“You’re beautiful and alive, and that’s enough.”

“Paradoxically, we fail to disclose ourselves to other people because we want so much to be loved. Because we feel that way we present ourselves as someone we think can be loved and accepted, and we conceal whatever would mar that image.”
“Another reason we hide is to protect ourselves from change. . . Still another reason we don’t disclose ourselves is that we were never taught how. . . Personal ambitions and economic pressures also give us powerful reasons for concealing what we really are. . . All of us hide behind the iron curtain of our public selves. . . Men hide what prevents them from seeming strong and masculine. . .”
“Disclosure is so important (because) without it we really cannot know ourselves. Or to put it another way, we learn to deceive ourselves while we are trying to deceive others. For example, if I never express my sorrow, my love, my joy, I’ll smother those feelings in myself until I almost forget they were once part of me.”
-Sidney Jourard, The Transparent Self, 1971.

The past few days have been a hectic mess of work–deadlines for three big bus wraps, plus lots of little bits of production work, which is my responsibility. Because of this, I’ve gotten to know my coworkers a lot better, and they, in turn, me.
This led me to thinking, which led to this doodle.

this also applies outside the workplace

Fortunately, my coworkers, now knowing at least two of these things, like me even better.
But it doesn’t always go that way.
A lot of times, people get scared. They run away.

WOW THIS POST IS KINDA LAME

Leave a comment

Filed under Sketches

Leave a Reply

